Skip to main content

Photography & Video: Home

This research guide will help you with finding information on photographers and photography from the 20th century through contemporary practice.

The online catalog

The Gund Library's catalog is part of a shared catalog with CWRU and CIM. After you get the results to your search, if you want to know only what is in the Gund Library, you will need to modify the search to limit your results to CIA's library. 

CIA patrons may borrow books from the CWRU and CIM libraries.

Researching Photographers

Berenice Abbott

BERENICE ABBOTT (1898-1991). - American photographer. Photographed in 1937 by Carl Van Vechten. BERENICE ABBOTT (1898-1991). - American photographer. Photographed in 1937 by Carl Van Vechten. CREDIT The Granger Collection / Universal Images Group

Cecil Beaton

CECIL W.H. BEATON - (1904-1980). Sir Cecil Walter Hardy Beaton. English photographer and designer. Photographed in 1932. CECIL W.H. BEATON - (1904-1980). Sir Cecil Walter Hardy Beaton. English photographer and designer. Photographed in 1932. CREDIT The Granger Collection / Universal Images Group

Dorothea Lange

DOROTHEA LANGE (1895-1965). - American Resettlement Administration photographer. DOROTHEA LANGE (1895-1965). - American Resettlement Administration photographer. CREDIT The Granger Collection / Universal Images Group

Edward Steichen

EDWARD STEICHEN (1879-1972). - American photographer. On an aircraft carrier during World War II when head of U.S. Navy photographic unit. EDWARD STEICHEN (1879-1972). - American photographer. On an aircraft carrier during World War II when head of U.S. Navy photographic unit. CREDIT The Granger Collection / Universal Images Group

Edward Weston

EDWARD WESTON (1886-1958). - American photographer. Weston photographs a nature scene, 1945. EDWARD WESTON (1886-1958). - American photographer. Weston photographs a nature scene, 1945. CREDIT The Granger Collection / Universal Images Group

W. Eugene Smith

W. EUGENE SMITH (1918-1978). - American photographer. Smith working for 'Life' magazine at Okinawa, Japan, during World War II. Photographed February 1945. W. EUGENE SMITH (1918-1978). - American photographer. Smith working for 'Life' magazine at Okinawa, Japan, during World War II. Photographed February 1945. CREDIT The Granger Collection / Universal Images Group

Julia Margaret Cameron

JULIA MARGARET CAMERON - (1815-1876). English photographer. Photographed in 1870 by her son, Henry Herschel Hay Cameron. JULIA MARGARET CAMERON - (1815-1876). English photographer. Photographed in 1870 by her son, Henry Herschel Hay Cameron. CREDIT The Granger Collection / Universal Images Group

Man Ray

MAN RAY (1890-1976). - Originally Emmanuel Rudnitsky. American painter, photographer and filmmaker. Self-portrait, 1943. MAN RAY (1890-1976). - Originally Emmanuel Rudnitsky. American painter, photographer and filmmaker. Self-portrait, 1943. CREDIT The Granger Collection / Universal Images Group

Margaret Bourke-White

Margaret Bourke-White circa 1935: Portrait of American photographer Margaret Bourke-White (1906 - 1971) posing with equipment she used for a mural at Radio City Music Hall, New York City. (Photo by Hulton Archive/Getty Images) CREDIT Hulton Archive / Archive Photos / Getty Images / Universal Images Group

*Images in this guide are from Britannica ImageQuest

Ask A Librarian

   IN PERSON

Stop by the library during our open hours to get help with your research questions, to schedule an individual appointment with a librarian, or to schedule a librarian visit for your class. Click here for our current hours.

   BY PHONE

Call (216) 421-7440 to speak to a library staff member during the library's open hours.

   BY EMAIL

Email us at referencehelp@cia.edu with your research questions or to schedule an individual appointment with a librarian.

Librarian

Dana Bjorklund
Contact:
Jessica R. Gund Memorial Library
11610 Euclid Ave.
Cleveland, Ohio 44106
216.421.7440
Website / Blog Page