Skip to main content

Photography & Video: Finding photography books

This research guide will help you with finding information on photographers and photography from the 20th century through contemporary practice.

Browse the library shelves

Look here for photography books:

TR 12 - TR 23     history of photography 

TR 139 - TR 140     photography biography

TR 146 - TR 624     handbooks and processes

TR 647 - TR 655     individual photographers & collections 1800-present

TR 692 - TR 810     scientific and technical applications

Z 7136     photography bibliographies

Ways to search the online catalog

 1) Do a SUBJECT search in the catalog using the following terms and limit your search to CIA Library to see what is available on our shelves:

AFRICAN AMERICAN PHOTOGRAPHERS PHOTOGRAPHY--HANDBOOKS, MANUALS, ETC.
PHOTOGRAPHERS PHOTOGRAPHY--TECHNIQUE
PHOTOGRAPHERS--BIOGRAPHY PHOTOJOURNALISTS 
PHOTOGRAPHERS--(country) e.g. GERMANY      WAR PHOTOGRAPHERS
PHOTOGRAPHERS--INTERVIEWS WOMEN PHOTOGRAPHERS

 

2) Do a SUBJECT or AUTHOR search in the catalog with a photographer's name:

Click the SUBJECT or AUTHOR button and enter a name into the box, for example: "Sturges, Jock" to find books about or by Jock Sturges.

 

3) Search the CONTEMPORARY ARTISTS INDEX for photographers.

The Contemporary Artists Index is a great place to look for contemporary or emerging photographers, artists, and designers whose work appears in group exhibitions or other publications featuring multiple artists in the library's collection. You can get a list of books that feature an artist, then click on a title to see all the artists featured in that book. It's a good way to explore photographers or artists you may not already know.

 

A few really nice photography books

Artists' books & Special collections

Gund Library has books by several notable photographers in our artists' books and special collections. Anyone can see items from these collections by asking at the circulation desk. Although we keep these precious works protected, we are happy to retrieve them for you to look at in the library.

Look for works by these photographers in our Artists' Books collection: Look for books on these photographers in our Special Collections

Sophie Calle

Hans-Peter Feldmann

‚ÄčRichard Hamilton

Sol Lewitt

Daido Moriyama

Yuki Onodera

Martin Parr

Ed Ruscha

Carrie Mae Weems

Bernhard and Hilla Becher

Brassai

Larry Clark

Lee Friedlander

Robert Mapplethorpe

Jan Saudek

Andy Warhol

Edward Weston

Garry Winogrand

Joel-Peter Witkin