Skip to main content

Library Updates: August 2019

Cleveland Institute of Art's Jessica R. Gund Memorial Library News - August 2019

New and Fantastic!

The library is always adding new books. Here we highlight four fantastic new books. Stop by the library's New Books shelf to see more!

Upcoming Library Events

Library Displays

2018-2019 Year in Review

Did you ever wonder how many questions we answer in a year? Or how many searches people make in our databases? 

Our annual Year in Review is full of this kind of information! Click the link below to see the last three years of library activity.

Library Hours

Schedule an Appointment

Need help? It's easy to

with a librarian!

New Digital Resource

NEW TO THE LIBRARY!

The library recently resource that we are excited to share with you.  With regular updates, Credo Reference Academic Core Collection includes 3 million entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts. In addition to full-text content, the Academic Core Collection provides access to more than 1,000 videos and animations, as well as 500,000 contextual visual aids, images, photographs and maps. It combines expertly curated content with customizable technology and dynamic discovery features. Give it a try today!

Credo Logo

NEW! Reserve a library room online

NEW!! Self-Serve Library Room Reservation

The library has two rooms that can be reserved on a first come, first served basis. You can reserve them for small groups, meetings, clubs, study groups, group work, or just to take a break to play some games with your friends! 

Starting this semester, you can book the rooms yourself. Please click the button below to reserve one of the rooms. If you need help with the form, stop by or call the library and we'll show you how to use it. 

Summer Reading 2019

This year's summer reading selection is The Best We Could Do by Thi Bui.

The summer reading research and resource guide has been published and the link sent out to all staff, faculty, and incoming freshmen. Click here to view the guide. 

Staff News

Staff News

Craig Chojnicki

New Staff Member - Craig Chojnicki
We are happy to introduce Craig Chojnicki, who was hired over the summer as our new Library Assistant.

Craig will be working in technical services, circulation, and reference. He will be here on Sundays and in the evenings during the school year.

He most recently worked at Medina County District Library and previously at Cuyahoga County Public Library. He has a bachelor's degree in integrative studies from Kent State. In addition to his library work, Craig is active in the Cleveland arts community and very involved in the music scene throughout northeast Ohio. He lives with his family in Cleveland's Kamm's Corners neighborhood. Stop by and say hello to Craig soon!

 

Natalie AmatoNatalie Amato chosen for ILEAD USA - Ohio
Natalie Amato, Instruction and Outreach Librarian, was chosen to participate in the library leadership program called ILEAD USA - Ohio. This program is “a biennial program that teaches librarians to work with each other, develop their leadership skills, and use participatory and emerging technologies to solve a clear problem in their community.”

Her team is focused on providing smaller libraries with the opportunity to work with technologies they otherwise could not afford. These technologies are all maker-focused and include podcast equipment, film equipment and a 3D printer. 

Over the next few months, she will be working closely with participating libraries to observe the learning processes. She is looking forward to sharing her findings!

New in Instruction

As we gear up for the school year, do not forget to schedule your library instruction sessions! We ask that you schedule these at least 2 weeks in advance, as we expect the calendar to fill up quickly! 

Right Arrow on emojidex 1.0.34 We have a *NEW* instruction menu! Left Arrow on emojidex 1.0.34

Please utilize this menu when requesting instruction. Each session has been designed to build upon the previous one. This makes it easy to track where your students are in developing their information literacy skills. Offerings can also be combined and customized to meet assignment learning outcomes.

Click here to view it! 

Convocation Closing

Mark your calendars for convocation and join the CIA community as we welcome the Class of 2023 at noon in the Peter B. Lewis Theater! 

The library will close for convocation on August 30, 2019 from noon until 2:00 pm. 

NEW! Library Services for Faculty

Attention CIA Faculty!

Did you know we provide a wide variety of services just for you? 

Check out our new guide for more information about all the the services and resources we provide to faculty. 

Click here to see how the library can be your partner in teaching and research!

Important information for new students

Library Orientation Session

Not sure how to find a book, log on to a computer, or check out materials? Have other questions regarding CIA's Gund Library? Good news! The library is providing a Library Orientation session for students who are not participating in Charette classes. (Students enrolled in a Charette class will have the regular library orientation during the first week of classes.)

This session is beneficial to any student interested in:

* Meeting the librarians and library staff
* Getting familiarized with the library space
* Learning about the library's resources and services

Orientation will take place on Monday, September 9 during the lunch period, from 11:30am-12:50pm and will include lunch.

Click here to RSVP today! Space is limited.

Periodically Speaking

For the premeire edition of this column, we are looking at one of a trio of locally focused journals here at the Jessica R. Gund Memorial Library:  Can: A Publication of the Collective Arts Network \ Cleveland.

Dealing with the North East Ohio art community as a whole, CAN offers an expansive and diverse look at the productiveness of Cleveland’s creative scene, and also arts and culture happenings in Akron, Canton, Oberlin and other nearby hip destinations.  Recent issues have included stories on events and exhibits at BAYARTS, the Edward E. Parker Creative Arts Complex, Hedge Gallery and an array of others.  We are very fortunate!   .

So, please stop into the Gund Library and read up! 

-Craig Chojnicki , Library Assistant

Library Dogs

Henry David "The Dog" Thoreau

Library contact: Dana Bjorklund

Perfect day: A 20 hour nap followed by a three hour game of fetch and one hour of rolling in garbage.

Best day of the week: Wednesday. I just love my garbage day walks!

Favorite drink: Your unattended morning coffee.

Favorite bathroom: 1524 Rydalmount, north side of the yard just on the left of the middle rhododendron bush.

Pet peeves: Zipper the cat