Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Resource Access @ CIA Gund Library

Contact the CIA Library

Using digital resources off campus

proxy login screen

This box will appear when you use CIA Library resources off campus. Sign in using your myCIA username and password to access resources.

Cambridge Books Online

To access books via Cambridge Books Online, click the link to be brought directly to the full text. The full text will be separated in sections/chapters and listed on the linked page. You must click through each section or chapter to read the full text. To view the text, you must choose to either download text as a PDF or send full text to Kindle, Google Drive, or Dropbox.

See the Cambridge Books Online FAQs page to find out more about the conditions under which you can download and access the full text.

EBSCOhost e-books

How to download EBSCOhost ebooks to borrow and read offline:

You can also access EBSCOhost ebooks through the EBSCO Mobile App. Learn more about this app with links to download.

Films on Demand

Please see our Films on Demand guide for information on how to make an account and access content off-campus

NOTE: If accessing Films on Demand videos via eReserves, all links to Films on Demand links on this guide will automatically take you to the streaming video, no Films on Demand login required. If you are off campus, you will need to log into the proxy server with your myCIA log-in information.

Kanopy Films

A direct link to the title on Kanopy should be provided to you. Click the link to go directly to the streaming film. Proxy server log-in may be required if accessing off campus.

You can also view all titles currently available to CIA via Kanopy by visiting:

Ohio public libraries

Sign up for library cards at the following Ohio public libraries. If in need of an Ohio address, use your CIA address as proof of residency.

You may already be able to check out books through the Cleveland Public Library if you have a library card at another CLEVNET member library.

More information about local public libraries can also be found on our Public Libraries LibGuide.

OhioLINK Authentication

OhioLINK provides access to electronic resources via various content providers. These providers include:

  • SpringerLink

To access OhioLINK eBooks off-campus, you will need to fill out the OhioLINK Authentication Form. If a link directs you to the OhioLINK Authentication Form:

  1. You will first be asked to choose your institution. Select "Cleveland Institute of Art".
  2. You will then be asked to provide your full name, as found on your library account. Use any name associated with you on file at CIA.
  3. You will also be asked for your library account number. This number is only accessible by library staff. Please contact us if you need your library account number.

Open Access Resources

Open access resources are available to anyone who can access these resources online. They do not appear in our catalogs but may appear in WorldCat.

The Internet Archive

How to create an account / borrow from The Internet Archive's Open Library:

Open Access eBooks

For open access eBooks via the publisher's website, click the book link for the item to see the publisher's page for the e-book with information on how to access it.

O’Reilly for Higher Education

To access books via O’Reilly for Higher Education, you must create an account with O'Reilly using your CIA email address. To create an account: 

  1. Click the link in the eReserves guide for the ebook you want to view.
  2. A pop-up box will appear saying, "Welcome! Get instant access through your library." along with a drop-down menu.
  3. Select "Not listed? Click here." from the drop-down menu.
  4. You will then be prompted to input your CIA email address. You can then create an O'Reilly account.
  5. After creating the account, go back to the eReserves ebook link and click. This time, if you are not already logged into O'Reilly, you can log in by clicking "Already a user? Click here." You will then be taken to the log-in page.
  6. After logging in, you should be on the ebook's access page.
  7. Click "Start" below the book image to open the ebook.

Oxford Scholarship Online

To access books via Oxford Scholarship Online, click the link to be brought directly to the full text. Content will be listed at the bottom and you must click through each chapter/section to read the full text. An abstract of the section is provided at the top of each chapter/section.

You can also Take A Tour, provided by Oxford Scholarship Online, to learn how to navigate and access the site.

Routledge Handbooks

To access Routledge Handbooks, click the link to be brought directly to the Taylor Francis website, containing both online viewing access and download access. Content will be listed at the bottom with options to download one chapter at a time or an option at the top to download the entire text.

Swank Films

A direct link to the title on Swank should be provided to you. Click the link to go directly to the streaming film. Proxy server log-in may be required if accessing off campus.

You can also view all titles currently available to CIA via Swank by visiting: