ResearchGuides: Social Practice in Art & Design: Finding articles

Topics in this guide

Some useful websites

FIELD - FIELD is a journal of socially engaged art criticism

Partnerships: A Journal of Service-Learning & Civic Engagement

Design & Social Impact - A white paper based on the “Social Impact Design Summit,” a convening by the Smithsonian’s Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum; the National Endowment for the Arts; and The Lemelson Foundation at The Rockefeller Foundation offices in New York on February 27, 2012.

SPAN - Social Practices in Art Network

Center for Artistic Activism

Finding articles in CIA's Gund Library resources

CIA's Gund Library subscribes to many databases that can help you locate articles on any topic. Try the subject headings in the finding books section of this guide as keywords in these databases.

If you are off campus, you will need to log-in to a proxy using the same username and password you use to log-on to a computer on campus.

For researching SOCIAL PRACTICE IN ART & DESIGN topics, the following databases will be the most useful, depending on the artist or theme:

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Includes full text, ebooks, and images.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window Offers extensive coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Offering full text and indexing for journals, books and monographs, it is an invaluable resource for students and scholars across all environmental disciplines. Contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300), as well as full text for more than 70 journals and nearly 50 books.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window This database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full-text content, much of which is not found in other databases, including full text for more than 1,200 journals.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window Full text content available in LGBTQ+ Source includes The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, Washington Blade, and many more. Additionally, all relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies is also included.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window Comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window Covers the core disciplines in Womens Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. Womens Studies International includes the following database files: Women Studies Abstracts, Womens Studies Bibliography Database, Womens Studies Database, Women Studies Librarian, Women of Color and Southern Women: A Bibliography of Social Science Research, and Womens Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography.

Some more resources

In addition to books and periodicals, the library provides access to other kinds of materials that may be useful in learning more about social practice in art and design topics. Some of these resources are listed below.

AskART This link opens in a new window
Online database containing close to 300,000 artists, with information ranging from biographies to auction records.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from todays leading magazines and journals.
OhioLINK Databases This link opens in a new window
A link to all the databases that are available through OhioLINK. Browse and select by subject area.